jump to navigation

New Year, New Challenges… September 13, 2012

Posted by Mrs. J in the Library in Nooks, Reflections.
trackback

Well, the year is certainly off to a start, and at the end of our third week of school, I have to say that I fully understand why some librarians might hesitate to take on a large project such as a Nook pilot program.  It is a LOT of work.  And frankly, I’m barely treading water to keep from drowning.

Over the summer, I took advantage of BN’s free Nook Book giveaway when they released Nook for Web, and scored two free books for all the Nooks, “The Boxcar Children Summer Special” and “Brave: The Junior Novelization.”  I haven’t read them myself, but I just uploaded the MARC records today.

Starting tomorrow, our third 6-day cycle of the year, I’m introducing the Nooks to the 4th and 5th graders.  I’m excited and nervous about how it will go.  Our student population has changed DRASTICALLY because of a major redistricting plan.  I’m mostly starting from scratch, and many of our new students don’t have the home access to technology and mobile devices as our previous students.  I fear I’ll be re-visiting the “tools, not toys” post again soon.

Finally, I have a “Nook Program Shopping List” put together of all the products I used and am using.  You can use the Excel version and change the quantities to match your budget, and the PDF for easy printing.  Both are available in the Nook Documents for Librarians page.  I hope it will help anyone trying to start from the ground up, and save them some time/energy.

Comments

1. Gail Shinn - September 19, 2012

Collette, how many Nooks did you add to your library?

Like

Collette J. - September 19, 2012

Hi Gail! Thanks for reading! I currently have 13. 10 are circulating to students, which includes one set of 6 nooks (the blue set) and another set of 4 nooks (the green set). Each color-coded set has different books, and all the Nooks in a set are registered to a single e-mail address to manage them.
The other 3 (the red set) are from a grant offered through the Wilson Education Foundation, which is a partner organization for our district. These 3 are for literature circles or book clubs where several students are reading the same book and discussing it. I’m hoping to complete this “set” to make 6, and maybe get another set started to provide easier access to newer, higher interest books for lit circles.

Like


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

