jump to navigation

TL Blogging Challenge #4 – Tech That’s Changed My Job February 13, 2014

Posted by Mrs. J in the Library in Reflections, Tablets & Apps.
Tags: , , , , , ,
trackback

TL Blogging Challenge #4 – How Technology Has Changed My Job

I’m about to admit my age, but I don’t actually remember a time when libraries didn’t have technology.  Though I remember a bulky card catalog in my elementary school library as a child (and I thought I rocked at using it), I’m decently sure we had a computer catalog by the time I was in middle school and an online one by high school.  So reflecting on this topic requires some creativity.

TechEvolution

The Library Tech Evolution – Images from Pixabay

Anyway…I think the most job-altering technologies since I started teaching are mobile devices.  From the now-comically large card catalog, we can now search for anything, print or digital, from a gadget that fits in our palms.  I find myself and my students using tablets and cell phones so much more than I originally thought, and that has *HUGE* ramifications for library services.  That’s why I bought 12 Android tablets and a Google Play gift card, and I jumped right in this year.  That’s also why I made LibGuides our library homepage and why I encourage students to bring their own devices in from home.

Now more than ever, the library can be in a person’s pocket, and I find that exciting as a teacher-librarian.  It also makes our jobs all the more essential, teaching information literacy skills when information is flooding our smartphones and tablets.  If I can reach students and faculty via the device in their hand (and promoting that it’s me that makes the library a technologically vibrant place), I’m doing at least part of my job right.  And personally, that gives me as much job security as an educator can reasonably expect these days.

Comments

1. cyberspacecrafter - February 13, 2014

Reblogged this on Cyberspace Crafter.

Like


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

