jump to navigation

TL Blogging Challenge #6 – Find Fantastic Images on Pixabay February 25, 2014

Posted by Mrs. J in the Library in Reflections, Tech Tips.
Tags: , , , ,
trackback

PixabayTL Blogging Challenge #6 – Share a Tech Tip

Pixabay.com is my new favorite website.  Since all the images on the website are in the public domain, you can use them anyway you like…alter them, remix them, and combine them to make new images. Don’t get me wrong, I *LOVE* buying quality clipart and digital paper from clipart artists too.  Though a lot of the Pixabay media is high-quality, it isn’t consistently good enough to meet every image need a person could have.  I’m not against paying artists for their work; instead, I think of Pixabay as an excellent supplement.

Pixabay tomatoes

One of many, many fantastic clipart images from Pixabay. I’m going to use this in my garden this year.

Still, public domain images come in handy for blog title images and other online media needs.  I don’t have to worry as much about getting a DMCA notice if I’m sure the media I use isn’t copyrighted.  Also, I’ve been making garden markers from Pixabay clipart like so.  I’ve even recommended it to students to illustrate their Story Pockets stories (with some guidance and supervision because they’re not all kosher for school).

So try it out the next time you need a photo or clipart!  You might just find the exactly what you need.

The blogging challenge is from Cybrarian Jen at Where Books and Technology Meet.  I’m going to try it out, but instead of daily posts, I’m going to try for 1-2 posts a week.  Follow and learn with us!  The participating blogs are listed in the comments of her post.

