jump to navigation

TL Blogging Challenge #11 – Being and Staying Connected May 22, 2014

Posted by Mrs. J in the Library in Reflections, Tech Tips.
Tags: , , ,
trackback
Connecting

Image from Pixabay

TL Blogging Challenge #11 – Share a tech tip.  How do you use this tech tip?  How does it simplify your life?

We are not just surrounded, we are deluged by technology!  What I’ve been learning (and re-learning) this school year is how to balance always being connected online with actually connecting with the people I care about most.  In other words, I’m learning when it’s time to turn off my laptop and checking my phone, and re-focus my attention on my relationships.

27Things

 

The trouble is, the job description of a 21st century teacher-librarian is more and more entrenched in technology.  In the past 5 years, I’ve joined Pinterest and Twitter, and started blogging more often.  Instead a monthly PLN blog reading binge via my RSS reader, I’m now checking it every couple of days.  It feels a bit out of control sometimes, as Mia MacMeekin’s excellent infographic shows (click through to see the entire thing):

 

 

So here are my tech tips for keeping tech as a manageable part of your life:

  1. Make and keep a technology curfew. – Though I often fail to stick to my tech curfew, when I do, I’m usually better rested the next day.  I try to shut off my laptop and phone by 11 pm at the latest.
  2. Limit or eliminate phone use during meals. – As tempting as it is to show my husband a funny Facebook post over dinner, I try to stay off my phone when I’m eating, because eating is quality time for us.  Same with eating with friends.
  3. If tempted, put your phone/tablet/device in another room. – Along with keeping my social media and social time separate, I try to put my phone in my purse and out of sight.

So how do you balance your tech use?  How do you use technology “well?”  Share your ideas and tips in comments!

The blogging challenge is from Cybrarian Jen at Where Books and Technology Meet.  I’m going to try it out, but instead of daily posts, I’m going to try for 1-2 posts a week.  Follow and learn with us!  The participating blogs are listed in the comments of her post.

